The Doctor’s Letter of Sympathy to his patient,

Freda Savahl
2 min readNov 14, 2021

On the loss of her newborn

Photo by J Taubitz on Unsplash

Dear Carol,

I have looked for words of hope in such a time of despair.

I’ve wondered in my mind, how life can be so unkind, so unfair.

I sometimes think, does anyone in this world truly care.

Then far in the distance, on the horizon, I see

Someone with a gentle, loving smile coming slowly towards me

I hear a gentle whisper, so very, very quiet, like the rustle of Autumn leaves, like the rolling of the green-blue seas.

“All who are burdened, worry not, take solace in me.

For my promise is for now and for all eternity.

There is no death or sorrow, I cannot with time relieve,

For those who know my promise, in whose hearts truly do believe.

I know your pain & sorrow, I know why you cry & grieve.

I hear every word & prayer, like the rustle of the leaves.

I hear every whisper in the rolling of the seas.”

A fine mist surrounds, the air becomes again calm,

A tiny voice is saying softly, “Don’t worry or fear for me.”

--

--

Freda Savahl

Retired Nurse Practitioner WHC /Contract Provider Deployment Military Services. US Citizen. Immigrant from South Africa 1978.