Flowers, Food, and Symbols of The States in the U.S.

Freda Savahl
3 min readSep 15, 2021

What I learned on my visits to some states.

Photo by REVOLT on Unsplash

My job led me to travel to some states in the U.S. as a Civilian Federal Provider for the Department of Defense. My delight & privilege was to learn about the history, people, local cuisine, & places of interest in the various states of my assignment. Here are a few of my discoveries;

New Mexico:

Photo by Alexandra Golovac on Unsplash

When we order local cuisine, the official state question is, “Red or Green?” The question refers to the colors of chili peppers. The state’s legislature adopted the idea in 1996 to honor the native cash crop. New Mexico’s official cuisine is beef & chicken enchiladas, tamales, Huevos Rancheros & green chilies stuffed with cheese & deep fried. Yucca is the state’s flower. Their flag has a red sun symbol of the Zia people on a field of gold.

Maine:

Photo by David Todd McCarty on Unsplash

The official state’s treat is the “Whoopie pie,” a cake-like chocolate cookie with fluffy…

--

--

Freda Savahl

Retired Nurse Practitioner WHC /Contract Provider Deployment Military Services. US Citizen. Immigrant from South Africa 1978.